I am…


Teacher: Tell me a sentence that starts with an “I“.
Student: I is the…
Teacher: Stop! Never put ‘is’ after an “I“. Always put ‘am’ after an “I“.
Student: OK. I am the ninth letter of the alphabet.

There is an abundance of I-s around us lately. More technically inclined among us really appreciate Steve Jobs and his palette of i-products: iPod, iPhone, and iPad.

For geeks there is an imaginary number – i. The name “imaginary number” was originally coined in the 17th century as a derogatory term as such numbers were regarded by some as fictitious or useless. The funny part of this number is that the i2 = -1.

I is the symbol for current in Physics. It is also a symbol for Iodine in Chemistry. I also stands for investment in Economy. And to wrap it up, there is also an I band.

In today’s post I would like to talk about the less obvious I from the phrase “Me, Myself and I”. Today’s topic is the personality.

According to Carl Jung there are two psychological types: Introvert and Extrovert. In order not to make it too theoretical let me give you an example. Since I live in Finland, I can see this every day:

a) Introvert Finns will look to their feet when they are talking to you.
b) Extrovert Finns will look to your feet when talking to you.

This is most obvious in elevators. You HAVE to polish your shoes regularly, because this is the most important part of your wardrobe that will be seen on you.

The following is so beautifully described in Wikipedia, so there would be a shame not to just copy-paste it here and quote it. The DISC assessment identifies four personality types: Dominance; Influence; Steadiness and Conscientiousness. It is used widely in Fortune 500 companies.

I have stumbled upon a free DISC assessment online. Open the following link: http://www.iquestions.com/disc.

All you have to supply is your e-mail and answer 24 questions. You will get results in PDF format right away. And what is the best in the report, you get a video response explaining your score chart.

D = Low D (0-40): I am more collaborative and a team player when it comes to problem solving.

I = Low I (0-40): I need more time alone and make decisions based on facts. Apparently I am a bit introverted.

S = High (60-100): Reliable, patient. I like focusing on one thing and get it completed before moving to the next one. Good listener, Introverted in big crowd, but very expressive in small circle of friends.

C = High (60-100): Quality assurance person. Perfectionist, accurate. I am a bit slower. 😦 Not slower in thinking, but slower in decision making. When you criticize my work be very careful, since I put everything into it, and by doing so you are criticizing me! 🙂

Now that you know me, please explain me why do I occasionally find myself doing the impulsive shopping.

D = I shop alone.

I = I’m very susceptible to all kinds of commercials.

S & C = I am impatient. I do not spend more than 20 minutes in the shop.

Comments are more than welcome.

About Sebastjan Brezovec

I see blogging as a welcome distraction from daily routine. It gives me freedom to express myself as well as motivation for some research before publishing the content.
This entry was posted in Vowels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

